Photo by Jason van Weenen, Pteropus poliocephalus

The Ronald Strahan Memorial Award

The Ronald Strahan Memorial Award commemorates Ronald Strahan (1922–2010), a respected Australian mammalogist who contributed vastly to the popular understanding of Australian mammals. The award consists of a medal and is made in recognition of significant contributions to the popular understanding of Australian mammals. Award recipients are named as Fellows of the Society and are invited to write an article for the Australian Mammal Society newsletter shortly after receiving the award.



  • Only members of the Society are eligible for the award.
  • The criteria for the award shall include publications, presented papers and any other work deemed by the committee to be relevant. Consideration will be given to the diversity of audiences reached as well as the conservation, educational and community outcomes arising from the work in popularising Australian mammals.
  • Nominations will be considered by an ad hoc committee appointed by the President and a Ronald Strahan Medallist will be included on the committee after the initial award.
  • Nominations for the award shall be called at least three months prior to the Annual General Meeting.
  • Council will put the nomination before an AGM for ratification and the medal is presented at the conference dinner. 


How to nominate 

To nominate a member for the award, provide a written nomination to the President of the Society. Nominations should include a statement of the person’s contribution to the popular understanding of Australian mammals and a summary of the person’s work including publications, presented papers and other contributions in evidence of their contribution. 


Strahan Medal Recipients

2023     Andrew Baker

2022     Euan Ritchie