Photo by Jason van Weenen, Pteropus poliocephalus

A.G. Lyne Award

The A.G. Lyne Award celebrates the life of Gordon Lyne (1919–1986), a long-standing member of the Society and past president.  The award is given to the best poster presentation by a student member at an Annual Scientific Meeting

The award consists of a certificate and a monetary prize of $300. The mode of payment will be determined by the Council and payment arranged with the student after the conference.


  • Only student members of the Society are eligible for the award.
  • The applicant must be the sole or senior author of the paper for which the award is made.
  • In the case of multiple authors, students must provide to Council a statement describing the contribution of other authors to the research.
  • Submitted applications will be short-listed by the Council for consideration for the award prior to the Annual Meeting.
  • A judging panel will be appointed by the Council to assess short-listed applicants for the award at the Annual Scientific Meeting.
  • A. G. Lyne Award recipients are eligible for a Student Travel Award but not the John Seebeck Award.

How to apply

To apply, please complete the Student Awards application form, providing an extended abstract of 450–500 words, including background, methods, results and discussion for your study (N.B. the extended abstract is submitted separately from abstracts provided to the Annual Scientific Meeting organising committee).

Applications for the A. G. Lyne Award must be submitted along with the conference abstract submission to the President of the Society (as two separate documents submitted together, see this year's conference page for the submission deadline).

A. G. Lyne Award Recipients

2022       Hayley Winter, Murdoch University

2021       Jess Ziyun Li, Monash University

2020       Tahlia Pollock

2019       William Terry, Southern Cross University

2018       Not awarded

2015       Phoebe Burns, University of Melbourne

2014       Kylie Soanes

2013       Aaron Greenville, University of Sydney

2012       not awarded

2011       Jemma Cripps, University of Melbourne

2010       Leila Brook, James Cook University

2009       Greta Frankham, University of Melbourne

2008       Martin Breed, Uppsala University

2007       Lisa Warnecke, University of New England

2006       Delphine Verrier, University of Melbourne

2005       Susan Campbell, University of Melbourne

2004       Angela Nation, University of Melbourne

2003       Vera Weisbecker, Eberhard Karls University

2002       Nicole Griffith, University of Melbourne

2001       Julie Schofield, University of Adelaide

2000       Duncan Sutherland and Martin Predavec

1999       Adam Munn

1998       Dorian Moro

1997       Mandy Lock, Deakin University