Photo by Jason van Weenen, Pteropus poliocephalus

Adolph Bolliger Award

The Adolph Bolliger Award commemorates Adolph Bolliger (1897-1962), a distinguished Australian mammalogist and founding member of the Society. The award is made for the best spoken presentation by a student at an Annual Meeting of the Society.

The award consists of a certificate and a monetary prize of $500. The mode of payment will be determined by the Council and payment arranged with the student after the conference.


  • Only student members of the Society are eligible.
  • The applicant must be the sole or senior author of the paper for which the award is made.
  • In the case of multiple authors, students must provide to the Council a statement describing the contribution of other authors to the research.
  • A judging panel will be appointed by the Council to assess applicants for the award at the Annual Scientific Meeting.
  • Bolliger Award recipients are eligible for a Student Travel Award but not the John Seebeck Award.

How to apply

Student members are automatically entered in the Bolliger Award, unless they notify the Society that they do not wish to be considered for the award. This can be done when submitting a conference abstract.


2023  Tiah Bampton, the University of Adelaide

2022  Toby Maidment, Queensland University of Technology 

2021  Tahlia Pollock, Monash University

2020  James Rule, Monash University

2019   Vivianna Miritis, Deakin University

2018    Linette Umbrello, University of Western Australia

2016    Lilly van Eden, The University of Sydney

2015    Ariel Marcy, University of Queensland and Bronwyn Fancourt, University of Tasmania (joint winners)

2014    Katie Ballantyne, University of Queensland

2013    Alexandra Carthey, University of Sydney

2012    Rachel Harris, University of Tasmania

2011    Elizabeth Burgess, University of Queensland

2010    Louise Pastro, University of Sydney

2009    Natasha Czarny, University of New England

2008    Lisa Warnecke, University of New England

2007    Euan Ritchie, James Cook University

2006    Ellen Menkhorst, University of Melbourne

2005    Marissa Parrott, University of Melbourne

2004    Karen Marsh, Australian National University

2003    Jenny Martin, University of Melbourne

2002    Damien Paris,  University of Melbourne

2001    Andrea Griffin, Macquarie University

2000    Rodney van der Ree

1999    Karen Firestone

1998    Mark Garkaklis, Murdoch University

1997    Vaughan Monamy, University of New South Wales and Martine Long, Adelaide University