Photo by Jason van Weenen, Pteropus poliocephalus

Honorary Life Membership

Honorary Life Membership is awarded to a member of the Society who has provided long standing service to the Society and to the advancement of substantive knowledge of Australasian mammals. Honorary Life Members are considered Fellows of the Society.


  • Only members of the Society are eligible for Honorary Life Membership.
  • The award is made at the discretion of the President and Council.
  • Applicants must be nominated by another member of the Society.

How to nominate

To nominate a member for Life Membership, please contact the President of the Society.

Fellows and Honorary Life Members of the Society 

2014    Richard MacMillen

2012    Chris Dickman           

2010    Bill Breed       

2010    Terry Dawson

2009    Lynne Selwood          

2009    Barry Fox       

2008    Ian Hume       

2005    Mary Taylor (deceased)   

2004    Bill Holsworth           

2000    John Seebeck (deceased)       

2000    Pat Woolley   

1995    Hugh Tyndale-Biscoe

1990    Tony Lee        

1986    John Calaby (deceased)         

1986    Ronald Strahan (deceased)    

1985    Geoff Sharman (deceased)         

1982    Gordon Lyne (deceased)       

1973    Ellis Troughton (deceased)